My Tools

March 25, 2006

I love paraphernalia of any kind.  I have the thing that goes with the thing for anything I do.  Not that I spend a lot of money getting these things,  but I do like to buy good quality things.  Things that will last and get more beautiful with age.  I think I got this from my grandfather who I inherited some of my household tools from.  That hammer I got from him is the best hammer I will ever use.  It must be years old by now.  It’s worn down and stained on it’s wood handle,  but it’s one of the most beautiful tools I own.

Part of the reason I Knit and/or Crochet is that I get some “me” time.  Part of that is putting on some good music,  lighting a scented candle and settling down with some soft fuzzy yarn.  Wooden tools blend right into this situation,  but the most important reason I use wood is so my hands do not hurt.  When my hands are hurting from working the yarn or computer use,  wood is warm and softer then metal.  The yarn won’t slip off as bad at plastic and metal.  Plus there is an amazing wood turner in Ohio that makes the most beautiful hooks and needles.  Go check him out!

Turn of the Century

The Hooks

SA50020711.jpg

The hooks come in so many different woods from around the world and sizes…even sizes that no one else has.  The smallest size is 3.75mm and the largest is 19mm.

The Needles

I use Clover bamboo knitting needles.  You can find them at any craft store that sells knitting supplies.  I got my double pointed needles from Bambooneedlegirl on Ebay.  She sells wonderful bamboo needles and Crochet hooks and I look forward to buying something from her for the third time.  Bamboo is so light that you hardly notice the needles in your hands sometimes.

The Cases

Both the Needle and Crochet cases are made by women in Vietnam so they can provide for their families.  Not only did I help them by buying both cases, but they help me out as well.  There is a place for everything and even a zippered pouch for everything else.  I am tough on my things sometimes so I added snaps to my cases,  but they do hold everything well.  Both cases are made of silk and are in the Jade/Chocolate color.  There are five other color combos and they are not expensive.  It was $25 for the Crochet case and $35 for the needle case.  Check them out below.

Lantern Moon

Crochet Case

SA50020511.jpg

SA50020411.jpg

Needle Case

SA500226111.jpg

SA50022411.jpg

Leave a Reply

